Governing Council

Aldgate Primary School Governing Council is committed to providing a positive, proactive voice on behalf of the school community.

Governing Councils work with site leaders to help set and monitor the direction of the school. The governing council meets twice a term and topics might include:

  • the academic achievement of the students,
  • the Site Improvement Plan, (that is what the school will be
         focussing on improving on the current year)
  • fundraising
  • OSHC
  • facilities and policies

Our role is to:

  • set the broad direction of the school after considering student,
         parent, staff and community input
  • develop policies which match the school’s vision
  • monitor the school budget

Governing Council is comprised of 10 elected members of the school community, plus the principal and a staff representative. Meetings are held twice per term and our AGM is held every February. Elected members serve for two-year terms. All members of the school community are welcome to attend Governing Council meetings, however only elected members have voting rights.

Governing Council has the following sub-committees 

  • Finance
  • Communication (including policies)
  • Out of School Hours Care
  • Natural Play Spaces
  • Fundraising

Again, members of the school community are welcome to attend sub-committee meetings. 

Members of the Governing Council for 2023 are:

  • Katherine Brown
  • Jarrod Carter (Chair)
  • Kate Delaporte
  • Briohny Hamilton
  • Meridee Jensen
  • Annabel Kent
  • Adele Pepper (Secretary)
  • Ryan Reeve (Teasurer)
  • Karolina van der Linden
  • Jeanne Young

For information and contact details on Governing Council or our sub-committees, please contact the front office on 08 8339 2377 or